Activités
Ateliers & Visites de terrain
Sessions plénières
Sessions zoom
Networking
08:00
09:00
10:00
11:00
12:00
13:00
14:00
15:00
16:00
17:00
18:00
19:00
20:00
21:00
22:00
Jeudi 16 novembre
Jeudi 16 novembre
Accueil des participants
08:30 - 09:30

Visites de terrain
09:30 - 13:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

Ateliers
09:30 - 11:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

  • Les violences discriminatoires
  • Les relations entre les citoyens et les institutions
  • La coopération transfrontalière dans la gestion des risques
  • Prévenir la radicalisation violente
  • Les villes et la criminalité organisée
  • Prévenir les violences faites aux femmes
  • Repenser la collecte de données probantes et l’évaluation
  • Les technologies au service de la prévention
  • Les villes face aux drogues et aux addictions
  • Concevoir et animer l’espace public
  • Une vie nocturne responsable
  • La diversification des acteurs de la sécurité

Horaires à venir.

Plus d'informations

Pause-café
Network

Ateliers
11:30 - 13:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

  • Les violences discriminatoires
  • Les relations entre les citoyens et les institutions
  • La coopération transfrontalière dans la gestion des risques
  • Prévenir la radicalisation violente
  • Les villes et la criminalité organisée
  • Prévenir les violences faites aux femmes
  • Repenser la collecte de données probantes et l’évaluation
  • Les technologies au service de la prévention
  • Les villes face aux drogues et aux addictions
  • Concevoir et animer l’espace public
  • Une vie nocturne responsable
  • La diversification des acteurs de la sécurité

Horaires à venir.

Plus d'informations

Déjeuner
13:00 - 14:30
Network

Sessions Zoom
13:00 - 14:30
Session zoom

Visites de terrain
14:30 - 18:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

Ateliers
14:30 - 16:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

  • Les violences discriminatoires
  • Les relations entre les citoyens et les institutions
  • La coopération transfrontalière dans la gestion des risques
  • Prévenir la radicalisation violente
  • Les villes et la criminalité organisée
  • Prévenir les violences faites aux femmes
  • Repenser la collecte de données probantes et l’évaluation
  • Les technologies au service de la prévention
  • Les villes face aux drogues et aux addictions
  • Concevoir et animer l’espace public
  • Une vie nocturne responsable
  • La diversification des acteurs de la sécurité

Horaires à venir.

Plus d'informations

Pause-café
Network

Ateliers
16:30 - 18:00
Ateliers & Visites de terrain

  • Les violences discriminatoires
  • Les relations entre les citoyens et les institutions
  • La coopération transfrontalière dans la gestion des risques
  • Prévenir la radicalisation violente
  • Les villes et la criminalité organisée
  • Prévenir les violences faites aux femmes
  • Repenser la collecte de données probantes et l’évaluation
  • Les technologies au service de la prévention
  • Les villes face aux drogues et aux addictions
  • Concevoir et animer l’espace public
  • Une vie nocturne responsable
  • La diversification des acteurs de la sécurité

Horaires à venir.

Plus d'informations

Networking
18:00 - 19:00
Network

Sessions Zoom
18:00 - 19:00
Session zoom

L’interprétation simultanée sera proposée depuis et vers l’espagnol, l’anglais et le français. En outre, l’interprétation depuis le catalan vers ces trois langues sera aussi disponible.

Ateliers

Participez aux ateliers thématiques. Élus, chercheurs, associations et autres professionnels de la sécurité, y débattront et présenteront leurs connaissances, expériences et pratiques. Ces discussions nourriront le Manifeste, projet politique commun élaboré par les participants et adopté à la fin de la conférence.

  • Atelier : Les violences discriminatoires

Les actes motivés par la haine et l’intolérance sont des réalités quotidiennes en Europe. Les autorités locales ont un rôle à jouer pour créer un environnement où la discrimination, les discours de haine et la violence ne sont pas acceptables. Quels types d’activité développer ? Avec quels acteurs ? Comment protéger les victimes ?

  • Atelier : Les relations entre les citoyens et les institutions

La défiance envers les institutions fragilise la cohésion sociale et la sécurité, réelle ou ressentie. Quels sont les facteurs d’éloignement entre les citoyens et les institutions ? En agissant comme intermédiaires, comment les autorités locales peuvent-elles contribuer à renforcer leur relation ? De quels moyens disposent-elles ?

  • Atelier : La coopération transfrontalière dans la gestion des risques

Face aux risques qui touchent les habitants des zones transfrontalières, la coopération indispensable demeure un défi. Comment mettre en place une gestion intégrée des risques de chaque côté de la frontière en cas de crise mais aussi au quotidien ? Comment développer une culture commune d’assistance transfrontalière ?

  • Atelier : Prévenir la radicalisation violente

La radicalisation se manifeste localement, parfois par des actes violents. Mais les  autorités  locales ne peuvent traiter seules les causes profondes de ce processus. Elles doivent s’appuyer sur des partenaires pour renforcer la résilience des individus face au risque de radicalisation. Quels sont les défis d’une telle approche ? Quelles initiatives ont déjà été menées ?

  • Atelier : Les villes et la criminalité organisée

Du contrôle direct par la violence à l’infiltration des marchés publics, la criminalité organisée peut prendre différentes formes sur le territoire. Comment identifier ces pratiques, leurs causes et leurs effets ? De quels outils disposent les autorités locales pour les prévenir ? Comment renforcer la culture de la légalité et de la transparence ?

  • Atelier : Prévenir les violences faites aux femmes

Les femmes sont victimes de violences dans la sphère privée mais aussi dans l’espace public. Comment agir contre les violences domestiques, le harcèlement sexuel et les autres formes de violence de genre ? Comment renforcer la prévention et intégrer les problématiques de genre dans toutes les politiques de sécurité urbaine ?

  • Atelier : Repenser la collecte de données probantes et l’évaluation

La collecte et l’analyse de données probantes sont indispensables pour définir les politiques publiques et suivre leurs impacts. Elles permettent aussi d’évaluer les mesures prises et de les réviser. Comment mesurer l’utilité sociale et les bénéfices de la prévention ? Qui doit en gérer l’évaluation ? Comment impliquer tous les acteurs et favoriser une culture de  l’évaluation ?

  • Atelier : Les technologies au service de la prévention

L’usage des technologies s’est généralisé dans les villes, qui deviennent « numériques » et « intelligentes ». Quelles opportunités et menaces présentent ce nouveau paradigme ? Comment les open data et les réseaux sociaux modifient-ils les politiques de prévention ? Comment assurer l’utilisation éthique et la sécurité des espaces virtuels ?

  • Atelier : Les villes face aux drogues et aux addictions

Les villes sont fortement impactées par la consommation et la vente de drogues. Comment réduire les nuisances et la délinquance liée au trafic ? Comment promouvoir durablement une culture de la réduction des risques qui protège aussi bien les consommateurs que la communauté ? Face aux évolutions des marchés de la drogue, comment se sont adaptées la législation et les actions de prévention ?

  • Atelier : Concevoir et animer l’espace public

Lieu du vivre ensemble, l’espace public peut faire l’objet de problèmes d’insécurité et de conflits en raison de son mauvais aménagement ou de son animation. Comment prendre en compte les enjeux de sécurité et de prévention dès sa conception ? Comment renforcer son appropriation par tous les citoyens afin d’en faire un espace inclusif et sûr ?

  • Atelier : Une vie nocturne responsable

La nuit, l’utilisation de l’espace public et les besoins des habitants changent. Les risques en termes de santé et de sécurité, mais aussi les conflits potentiels entre citoyens conduisent à repenser le vivre ensemble. Comment apaiser durablement la gestion de la vie nocturne et en faire une opportunité de développement des territoires ?

  • Atelier : La diversification des acteurs de la sécurité

En complément des services publics de sécurité, de nouveaux professionnels de la sécurité urbaine sont apparus et leur rôle s’est renforcé. Ceux-ci sont issus de secteurs divers, dont le secteur privé marchand et notamment les sociétés de sécurité privées ainsi que les entreprises sociales et solidaires. Comment les associer à la gouvernance des politiques ? Comment les former pour développer une culture commune afin d’assurer la cohérence et la complémentarité entre ces divers intervenants ?

Intervenants

La Conférence accueillera des intervenants de haut-niveau. Le panel reflétera la diversité des acteurs de la sécurité et de la vie urbaine. Il comprendra notamment : des élus, des agents des administrations locales, nationales et internationales, des chercheurs universitaires ainsi que des représentants de la société civile et du secteur privé.

Parmi les intervenants déjà confirmés :

> Willy Demeyer, Maire de Liège (Belgique) et Président de l’Efus

> Ada Colau, Maire de Barcelone (Espagne)

> Joaquim Forn, Ministre de l’Intérieur de la Catalogne, Gouvernement de Catalogne (Espagne)

> Antje Niewisch-Lennartz, Ministre de la Justice, Basse Saxe (Allemagne)

> Adam Crawford, professeur de Criminologie et de Droit pénal et Directeur de l’Institut de Sciences Sociales de Leeds, Université de Leeds (Royaume-Uni)

> Gudrun Mosler-Törnström, Présidente du Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux (CPLRE)

> Maria Elena Morera, Présidente de l’association Causa en Común (Mexique)

Sessions zoom

Découvrez une action, un projet, un outil ou une étude correspondant à une démarche novatrice en matière de sécurité urbaine dans un format court et souple : 15 minutes de présentation maximum suivies d’un échange avec les auditeurs.

Appel à contributions

Faites connaître vos recherches ou vos travaux en matière de sécurité urbaine en répondant à notre appel à contributions. Les articles retenus seront diffusés sur l’espace en ligne réservé aux participants à la conférence et auquel l’auteur aura accès afin de pouvoir échanger avec ces derniers. Une sélection des meilleures contributions sera publiée sur le site de la conférence.

Activités
Workshops & Field visits
Plenary sessions
Networking
Zoom sessions
08:00
09:00
10:00
11:00
12:00
13:00
14:00
15:00
16:00
17:00
18:00
19:00
20:00
21:00
22:00
Thursday 16 November
Thursday 16 November
Participant registration
08:30 - 09:30
Reception of participants

Field visits
09:30 - 13:00
Workshops & Field visits

Workshops
09:30 - 11:00
Workshops & Field visits

  • Discriminatory Violence
  • Relations Between Citizens and Institutions
  • Cross-border Cooperation in Risk Management
  • Preventing Violent Radicalisation
  • Cities and Organised Crime
  • Preventing Violence Against Women
  • Rethinking Evidence and Evaluation
  • Technologies for Prevention
  • Drugs and Addiction in Cities
  • The Design and Management of Public Places
  • For a Responsible Nightlife
  • The Diversification of Security Stakeholders

Times to be confirmed

More information

Coffee break
Networking breaks

Workshops
11:30 - 13:00
Workshops & Field visits

  • Discriminatory Violence
  • Relations Between Citizens and Institutions
  • Cross-border Cooperation in Risk Management
  • Preventing Violent Radicalisation
  • Cities and Organised Crime
  • Preventing Violence Against Women
  • Rethinking Evidence and Evaluation
  • Technologies for Prevention
  • Drugs and Addiction in Cities
  • The Design and Management of Public Places
  • For a Responsible Nightlife
  • The Diversification of Security Stakeholders

Times to be confirmed

More information

Lunch
13:00 - 14:30
Networking breaks

Zoom sessions
13:00 - 14:30
Zoom sessions

Field visits
14:30 - 18:00
Workshops & Field visits

Workshops
14:30 - 16:00
Workshops & Field visits

  • Discriminatory Violence
  • Relations Between Citizens and Institutions
  • Cross-border Cooperation in Risk Management
  • Preventing Violent Radicalisation
  • Cities and Organised Crime
  • Preventing Violence Against Women
  • Rethinking Evidence and Evaluation
  • Technologies for Prevention
  • Drugs and Addiction in Cities
  • The Design and Management of Public Places
  • For a Responsible Nightlife
  • The Diversification of Security Stakeholders

Times to be confirmed

More information

Coffee break
Networking breaks

Workshops
16:30 - 18:00
Workshops & Field visits

  • Discriminatory Violence
  • Relations Between Citizens and Institutions
  • Cross-border Cooperation in Risk Management
  • Preventing Violent Radicalisation
  • Cities and Organised Crime
  • Preventing Violence Against Women
  • Rethinking Evidence and Evaluation
  • Technologies for Prevention
  • Drugs and Addiction in Cities
  • The Design and Management of Public Places
  • For a Responsible Nightlife
  • The Diversification of Security Stakeholders

Times to be confirmed

More information

Networking
18:00 - 19:00
Networking breaks

Zoom sessions
18:00 - 19:00
Zoom sessions

Simultaneous interpretation will be available from and into Spanish, English and French as well as from Catalan during Efus 2017 conference Security, Democracy & Cities.

Workshops

Take part in thematic workshops. Elected officials, researchers, associations and other security professionals are expected to debate and share their knowledge, experiences and practices. These discussions will enrich the Manifesto, shared political project produced by participants which will be endorsed at the end of the conference.
  • Workshop: Discriminatory Violence

Actions motivated by hate and intolerance are a day-to-day reality in Europe. Local authorities have a key role in creating an environment in which discrimination, hate speech and violence are not tolerated. What kind of activities can they develop? Which actors could get involved? How to protect victims?

  • Workshop: Relations Between Citizens and Institutions

General distrust towards institutions tends to weaken social cohesion and security, whether real or perceived. What are the factors creating this gap between citizens and institutions? By acting as intermediaries, how can local authorities contribute to strengthening their relationship? What means do they have to achieve this?

  • Workshop: Cross-border Cooperation in Risk Management

Considering the risks that affect people living in border areas, cooperation is necessary but challenging. How to implement integrated risk management on each side of the border in case of crisis but also on a daily basis? How to develop a shared culture of cross-border assistance?

  • Workshop: Preventing Violent Radicalisation

Radicalisation occurs locally, sometimes through violent acts. But local authorities cannot manage alone the underlying causes of this process. They need to rely on partners to strengthen the resilience of individuals facing a risk of radicalisation. What are the challenges of this approach? What initiatives are already underway?

  • Workshop: Cities and Organised Crime

From direct control through violence to the infiltration of public procurement, organised crime can take different forms in a given territory. How to identify such practices, their causes and consequences? What tools do local authorities have to prevent them? How to strengthen the culture of legality and transparency?

  • Workshop: Preventing Violence Against Women

Women are the target of violence in their private life but also in public spaces. How to act against domestic violence, sexual harassment and other forms of gender-based violence? How to strengthen prevention and include gender issues in all urban security policies?

  • Workshop: Rethinking Evidence and Evaluation

Collecting and analysing evidence is essential in order to design public policies and measure their impact. It is also necessary in order to assess and adapt measures taken as part of such policies. How to assess the social value and benefits of crime prevention? Who should be in charge of managing such assessments? How to involve all stakeholders and foster an evaluation culture?

  • Workshop: Technologies for Prevention

The use of technologies has become widespread in cities, which are now “digital” and “smart”. What opportunities does this new paradigm offer? How do open data and social media reshape prevention policies? How to ensure virtual spaces are used ethically and securely?

  • Workshop: Drugs and Addiction in Cities

Drugs consumption and trafficking have a deep impact on cities. How to reduce nuisances and crime linked to trafficking? How to sustainably promote a culture of risk reduction which protects both consumers and communities? As drugs markets evolve, how are legislation and prevention being adapted?

  • Workshop: The Design and Management of Public Places

As places where people live together, public spaces, when they are not well designed or managed, can become rife with insecurity or conflicts. How to take into account security and crime prevention when designing public spaces? How to ensure that all citizens start appropriating them so they become inclusive and safe?

  • Workshop: For a Responsible Nightlife

At night, the use of public spaces and the needs of residents change. It is necessary to rethink coexistence and take into account health and security risks, as well as potential conflicts between citizens. How to bring about a peaceful nightlife and build on its potential for local development?

  • Workshop: The Diversification of Security Stakeholders 

In addition to security services provided by the government or local authorities, new urban security professionals have emerged and play an increasingly important role. They come from various sectors, including the private commercial sector, in particular security companies, but also from social and solidarity-based enterprises. How to involve them in the governance of policies? How to train them in order to develop a common culture and ensure coherence and complementarity among all security actors?

Speakers

The Conference will host high-level speakers who will reflect the diversity of security and urban life including elected representatives, staff from local, national and international authorities, university researchers, members of the civil society and the private sector.

Among the speakers who have already confirmed their attendance:

> Ada Colau, Mayor of Barcelona (Spain)

> Willy Demeyer, Mayor of Liège (Belgium) and President of Efus

> Joaquim Forn, Home Secretary, Government of Catalonia (Spain)

> Adam Crawford, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice and Director of the Leeds Social Sciences Institute, University of Leeds (United Kingdom)

> Ana Falú, founding member of Women and Habitat Network for Latin America and Professor at the National University of Cordoba (Argentina)

> Maria Elena Morera, President of the NGO Causa en Común (Mexico)

> Gudrun Mosler-Törnström, President of Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

> Niraj Nathwani, Programme Manager for Equality and Citizens’ Rights Department at EU Fundamental Rights Agency (FRA)

> Antje Niewisch-Lennartz, Minister of Justice, Lower Saxony (Germany)

> Gian Guido Nobili, Head of Urban Security and Legality, Security and Local Police Department, Emilia-Romagna Region (Italy)

> Martin Schairer, Stuttgart Deputy mayor for Security, Public Order and Sport and President of the German Forum for Urban Security (DEFUS)

> Roger Vicot, Mayor of Lomme and President of the French Forum for Urban Security (FFSU)

> Irvin Waller, President of the International Organisation for Victim Assistance (IOVA) and Professor at the University of Ottawa

Zoom Sessions

Learn more about an initiative, a project, a tool or a study relative to an innovative approach in the field of urban security in a short and informal way: 15 minute presentation max. followed by a discussion with the audience.

Call for papers

Publicise your research or your work on urban security by answering our call for papers. Selected contribution papers will be posted on the online space reserved for conference attendees. Contribution authors will have access to that space, where they will be able to exchange with the conference participants. A selection of the best contributions will be published on the conference website.